Champion sprinter to lead UniSA-Australia Down Under

2003 Tour de France sprint champion Baden Cooke will lead the UniSA-Australia team at next month’s Tour Down Under.

Mike Turtur, Tour Down Under Race Director, has announced the UniSA-Australia team roster, which includes Australian cycling champions Baden Cooke, Aaron Kemps and Scott Davis.

“It will be great to have Baden back on the race, as he always performs well,”said Turtur. “Baden is yet another successful Tour de France rider to be racing in Adelaide in 2009.”

South Australia’s Jack Bobridge will make his Tour Down Under debut in January.

Bobridge was the 2007 Australian Junior Male Road Cyclist of the Year and in 2008 represented Australia at the Beijing Olympic Games and the World Track Championships. He recently dominated in the pursuit at the Melbourne round of the UCI Track World Cup and is tipped as one of Australia’s future stars.

“The UniSA-Australia team is a mix of international experience and some ofthe youngest and brightest cycling talent in this country,” said Turtur.

CEO of Cycling Australia, Graham Fredericks, said, “The Tour Down Under provides an unique opportunity for some of our talented young Australian riders to team with established champions in a ProTour race with the world’s best road riders.”

The University of South Australia has been a sponsor of the Tour Down Under since 2001.

UniSA Vice Chancellor Professor Peter Høj said one of the most rewarding aspects of the Tour Down Under sponsorship was supporting talented Australian riders to take part in an event of international status.

“As a university we are in the business of providing educational opportunities that develop excellence,” said Høj. “Our support of the Tour Down Under extends that notion to sports and also encourages the wider community to engage with what is an inspiring and health promoting event. I wish all the young athletes in Team UniSA-Australia the very best of luck at the Tour.”

UniSA-Australia team:

  • Baden Cooke (VIC)
  • AaronKemps (QLD)
  • Scott Davis (QLD)
  • Travis Meyer (WA)
  • Jack Bobridge (SA)
  • Simon Clarke (VIC)
  • Team Manager Dave Sanders (AUS)

The seventh rider of the UniSA–Australia team will be selected after the 2009 Australian Open Road Championships (7 – 11 January 2009 in Victoria).


    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: