Archive for October, 2008

SYDNEY October 2008 – Cycling Australia is pleased to announce the renewal of our sponsorship agreement withToshiba (Australia) Information Systems Division (ISD) .

The partnership will see a continuation of Team Toshiba, the Australian professional track cycling team launched in 2007, and sponsorship of ‘The Cyclones’ – the National Team. Toshiba’s sponsorship provides the opportunity for more of Australia’s talented track stars to compete in world class events.

The 2008-09 Team Toshiba will debut at the Melbourne round of the UCI World Cup Classics being staged from November 20 to 22. More than 200 riders from around the world are expected to line up for this round of the Series. ‘The Cyclones’, as well as contesting the World Cup Classics, will also compete at the World Championships in March 2009 in Pruszkow, Poland.

“Australian cycling has never been so strong with an abundance of talent across the nation so we’re delighted to be back in the saddle with Cycling Australia,” said Mark Whittard, General Manager, Toshiba Information Systems Division. “The relationship is a great fit as Toshiba is passionate about leading the pack using speed, power and performance and crossing the finishing line in style.

“As a company, we’re very proud to carry on giving Australian cycling a flying start by investing in the stars of today and tomorrow.”

“Toshiba’s support over the past year has been crucial to the development of our young, talented cyclists with members of Team Toshiba being selected to represent Australia at the highest level of international competition over the past year,” said Graham Fredericks, Chief Executive Officer of Cycling Australia. “We are confident the continued support of Toshiba will help our cyclists continue to achieve success at world level.”

The Team Toshiba lineup for the coming season includes current team members Anna Meares, Dan Ellils, Scott Sunderland and Zakkari Dempster who will be joined by Kaarle McCulloch, Jason Niblett, Leigh Howard, Glenn O’Shea and Belinda Goss.

“Toshiba has been a fantastic supporter of the team and of me personally over the past year and I am really excited they are staying on board with us,” said Meares. “Some fresh new talent is joining the roster of experienced performers and I look forward to us posting some great performances during the season.”

Belgian champion Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet – Tnisteiner) and Dutch champion Daphny van den Brand (ZZPR) have won the first race of the UCI World Cup presented by Safety Jogger that was held in Kalmthout, Belgium. Next week in Tabor both riders will be wearing the new white leader’s jersey of the UCI World Cup presented by Safety Jogger.

Tight sprint victory for Nys over Albert
The Elite Men’s race was dominated by young Niels Albert (Palmans Cras) but the 22 year-old couldn’t get rid of Sven Nys. The Belgian duo was forced to sprint for the win in Kalmthout and it turned out to be a close call; eventually the photo finish showed that Nys was the winner.
Shortly after this duo local hero Kevin Pauwels (Fidea Cycling Team) captured the remaining podium spot by holding off Radomir Simunek Jr (Palmans Cras) and Bart Aernouts (Rabobank). Czech champion Zdenek Stybar (Fidea Cycling Team) sprinted towards a sixth place in a group that included Thijs Al, Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb Pro Job) and Bart Wellens (Fidea Cycling Team).
World champion Lars Boom (Rabobank) dropped out of this group two laps before the end of the race; Boom punctured just past the pit. The 22 year-old World Champion was caught by a big group of chasers but by winning the sprint in this group Boom managed to control the damages in Kalmthout.

Van den Brand holds off world champion Kupfernagel
In the women’s race Daphny van den Brand (ZZPR) won the World Cup opener for the third time in a row. The Dutch champion dominated the race in the technical sections but World Champion Hanka Kupfernagel managed to close the gaps in the other sections.
Going into the last lap there were still six women in contention for the victory. When approaching the forest halfway that ultimate lap Kupfernagel was riding in third position behind van den Brand and Christel Ferrier-Bruneau. Once more van den Brand launched an attack in this technical zone and she managed to create a gap on Ferrier-Bruneau. Kupfernagel was forced to wait until there was more space before she could overtake Ferrier-Bruneau but by then the victory was gone for the World Champion. Eventually van den Brand held on to her lead and she finished five seconds ahead of Kupfernagel.
Czech talent Pavla Havlikova was beaten by Kupfernagel in the sprint, nevertheless the Czech woman was more than happy as she claimed her first ever podium spot in the UCI World Cup.

Two races produced two different winners in the UCI Asia Tour’s September campaign, but neither result could unbalance Tabriz Petrochemical’s Hossein Askari, who is confirmed as the 2007-2008 overall champion.

The Tour of Thailand The Northern Advanture (class 2.2), which took place 1st – 6th September, saw the Giant Asia Racing Team notch their third overall win of the season when German rider Alex Coutts (photo) topped the general classification ahead of the outstanding Tabriz Petrochemical outfit’s Hossein Nateghi. GE-Trek-Marco Polo’s former Rabobank UCI ProTour rider Leon Van Bon took the honours in the points classification.

The Tour de Hokkaido then took place in Japan from September 11th to 15th. Meitan Hompo-GDR’s Takashi Miyazawa battled a strong field to emerge with victories in the general classification and on points.

Miyazawa’s overall win was his second of the season, after taking the Tour de Okinawa earlier in the season. He moves up to fifth in the UCI Asia Tour rankings, behind the dominant Iranians, who have Askari in the lead, Ghader Mizbani in second, while Nateghi and Mehdi Sohrabi are third and fourth respectively. Tabriz Petrochemical’s Ahad Kazemi Sarai is sixth in the rankings, bringing to five the number of Iranians in the top 10 of the UCI Asia Tour rankings.