Le Tour de Langkawi 2008 – Go Seoul!

Seoul’s Cycling Lee Won-Jae took the 3rd stage of the Le Tour de Langkawi with France’s Matthieu Sprick holding the leader’s yellow jersey for a third day in a row. Lee attacked during the last 4km to the finish line and lead by 6 seconds before he was caught again in the last 3km. His second attempt in the last 1km was successful. made him finish the stage with a lead of 5 seconds.

Le Tour de Langkawi 2008 Stage 3 winner Lee Won-Jae
Go go Seoul cycling! On my left, Park Sung Baek (2nd place in Asian overall rider as of Stage 3) and on the most right is Stage 3 winner Lee Won-Jae

“There was a breakaway at the last kilometer from Lee but by then, there was little that we could do. But at the same time, I must admit that I feel proud to wear the green jersey as this is the first time that a Malaysian is in it and I must thank my team for all the hard work.”, said Anuar Manan the first Malaysian to wear the green jersey.

Le Tour de Langkawi 2008, Anuar Manan , Lee Won-Jae , Shinichi Fukushima
Asian Trio: Left to Right- Anuar Manan (Green Jersey), Lee Won-Jae (Stage 3 winner), Shinichi Fukushima (Asian overall)
Picture by Sharon Liau

Lee said, “I tried very hard in this race and I never thought about winning.”. “But when I saw the chance, my manager just told me to go for it.”

    Leave a Reply

