KUALA LUMPUR – Despite it being only their first ever foray into Le Tour de Langkawi, Team Type 1 will be relying on an impressive array of arsenal to carry their challenge for the annual cycling race series from 9-17 February.

And the team will not be short of experience considering that they will be under the guidance of team director Edward Beamon, who had previously chart the course for team Navigators-Insurance in LTDL 2005 while at the same time, they will be powered by several riders who had previously been part of Asia’s biggest cycling tour.

Towards that, the US-registered team has listed Matthew Wilson as the team captain with the 30-year-old Australian having previously ridden for ProTour team Unibet.com last year and Francaise des Jeux and has chalked up seven professional win thus far.

Beamon said that Wilson will be assisted by Glen Chadwick, Moises Aldape, Ben Brooks, Fabio Calabria and Ian MacGregor with each rider bringing vast experience to the cause for Team Typed 1 after having been exposed to races in Europe and Asia.

“We are all anxious to demonstrate just what this team is capable of especially when we will be part of an important race like Le Tour de Langkawi and in front of the big number of spectators which the tour draws every year,” said Beamon.

“Matt Wilson has been in good form in the early season and we all expect him to be a lot more aggressive and competitive in every stage. And we want him to win at least one or two stages with the aim of one of the riders completing the tour in the podium.

“But having said that, we realized that LTdL is a very competitive cycling race and it will be a hard tour, no doubt.”
Another rider which Team Type 1 will be relying on is New Zealander Chadwick, who at 31-years-old had at one time been in the colours of team Giant Asia Racing.

With ten wins to his name, the New Zealand individual time trial champions in 2007 and who had previously been with Navigator, Cyclingcom.news and Landbouwkresiet-Colnago, will be relied on in the climb and Team Type 1’s aspiration for the General Classification.

Beamon said that Chadwick has been taking part in several races in Australia and South America and will be up to the task of going up against riders from the three ProTour teams which will begin Le Tour de Langkawi as the firm favourites.
“It is difficult to ascertain who will win as LTDL has never been known to be an easy cycling tour and even without the climb up Genting Highlands, it is still just as tough,” added Beamon.

The other riders which will fortify Team Type 1 further are Moises Aldape, the 26-year-old Mexican who had previously represented Panaria (2005-2007) and who had finished second in the GP Industria & Artigianato-Carnaghese (1.1) last August and Ben Brooks, the 28-year-old American from the Navigator, Jelly Belly and Linda McCartney Racing Team.
The remaining two riders are 24-year-old MacGregor, from team Slipstream and Fabio Calabria.

Matt Wilson (AUS), Moises Aldape (MEX), Ben Brooks (USA), Fabio Calabria (AUS), Glen Chadwick (NZL), Ian MacGregor (USA)


    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: