Tour of Qatar 2008: MILRAM’s Marco Velo 20th in Al Khor

Youngster Niki Terpstra pushes himself into the Top Ten of the Best Young Rider Ranking

Dortmund, 30 January 2008. MILRAM’s Niki Terpstra rode into the top ten in the Best Young Rider ranking with an admirable peformance in the fourth stage of the Tour of Qatar (UCI 2.1). About 12 kilometers before the finish line, Terpstra made a brave escape out of the leading group, but the Quick-Step team around overall leader Tom Boonen wouldn’t let the young Dutchmen get away. In a surprise finish, the Italian Alberto Loddo (Tinkoff Credit Systems) took the sprint after 131,5 km between Khalifia Stadium and Al Khor Corniche. Overall leader Tom Boonen finished second, defending his lead, with the German Sebastian Siedler (Skil-Shimano) coming in third.

Picture above: Niki Terpstra

The best MILRAM rider was Marco Velo in 20th place. Terpstra came in shortly thereafter in 31st place, moving himself up to eighth in the Young Rider Ranking. The young Dutchman is currently 25th overall.

„Today we had Niki Terpstra up front for a long time, but we were missing a bit of luck in the final sprint,“ said MILRAM’s Ralf Grabsch. „Tomorrow is the longest stage, we will surely look for our chance and get in breakaway groups. We always have our eye on them and will try to go with them, to show ourselves and to try to bring in some results.“

The fifth stage on Thursday (Jan. 31) will end again at Al Khor Corniche after starting at the Al Khor Academy. The 170 km flat stage runs from Qatar’s west coat across to the east coast, and back again.

The Stages 2008:

27.01. Stage 1 Doha – Doha, MZF (6 km)

28.01. Stage 2: Al Zubarah – Doha Golf Club (137,5 km)

29.01. Stage 3: Camel Race Track – Qatar Foundation (147,5 km)

30.01. Stage 4: Khalifa Stadium – Al Khor Corniche (131,5 km)

31.01. Stage 5: Al Khor Academy – Al Khor Corniche (170 km)

01.02. Stage 6: Al Wakra – Doha Corniche (120 km)

Total length: 712,5 km

Team MILRAM line-up:

Volodymyr Diudia (UKR), Matej Jurco (SVK), Alberto Ongarato (ITA), Marco Velo (ITA),

Ralf Grabsch (GER), Christian Knees (GER), Niki Terpstra (NED).

Directeur Sportif:

Oscar Pellicioli (ITA).


    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: