Cycleways Cup, Navan, Co. Meath-76 miles

Brian Kenneally of MyHome.ie/Cycleways.com justified favouritism in my eyes when he strolled to an easy victory in the Cycleways Cup held over 76 miles in Navan yesterday.

Admittedly conditions were far from favourable but the Pildown man never wavered in his quest for victory.

“Early on the race groups were all over the place because of the wind and the rain. I found myself in the second group and realising that the danger men were ahead of me, it needed a good effort and fortunately I made the junction.

“Towards the end I found myself in a four man group which included two Usher Irish Road club and two Murphy & Gunn.

“Needless to say the odds were stacked against me if it came down to s print! I just waited until the final climb before we came back onto the Slane Road, and my tactics were spot on as it gave me the impetus to go and win.

“Fair play to Niall Delahaye, he tracked me for the last five miles at about 100 meters, but the race in Tralee was a bonus despite the fact I cam second,” said Brian at the finsh in Navan.

Details:

1 Brian Kenneally (MyHome.ie/Cycleways.com), 3hrs.11mins.26secs;

2 N. Delahaye (Usher Irish Road Club), @31secs;

3 G. Swinard (Usher Irish Road Club), @1.10;

4 S. Lacey (Murphy & Gunn/Newlyn Group), st;

5 I. Speirs (Murphy & Gunn/Newlyn Group), st;

6 J. O’Brien (Dan Morrissey/Carrick Wheelers RC), @4.10;

7 M. Hennessy (Fermoy CC), st;

8 A. Carey (Dan Morrissey/Carrick Wheelers RC), st.

    Leave a Reply

